Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Linux runlevels

There are six default runlevels in the Linux base system.

0 (zero) is basically the shutdown runlevel.

1 (one) is single user mode.

2 (two) is a multi-user mode, minus NFS support.

3 (three) is a multi-user, command line based mode.

4 (four) user-defined / undefined.

5 (five) multi-user, graphical mode. This is generally the default runlevel on desktop / laptop machines.

6 (six) is basically the reboot runlevel.

No comments:

Post a Comment